Farasan Island

Farasan Islands (Jaza’ir Farasan) is a group of 84 islands (archipelago), under the administration of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, in the Red Sea with its main island of Farasan which is 50 km off coast of Jizan. The main town of the island is Farasan.

A number of uninhabited islands serve as breeding sites for large number of birds. In addition to it, it serves as a natural reserve for Arabian gazelles.

Though not a green island, it has beautiful coastlines to spend silent hours and rich marine fauna to quench the thirst of a sea diver. 160 nautical miles (298 km) southwest of Farasan lies the Eritrean port of Massawa.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.